bike engine troubles

colemanbales

Local time
11:01 PM
Hey guys, so recently i have had some problems with my bike engine. Do realize that i am new to motorized bikes, and to taking apart and working on internal combustion engines all together. So it all started out when i gave my bike a wash with the garden hose. I then realized that the cdi boxes these bikes come with are not what you would call water proof..... anyway i ordered another one in the mail, and thought i would pull the head off the engine and check some things out while i was waiting for the new cdi to come in. so i pulled the head off and found this (look at pictures). It looked like some significant carbon buildup to me, so i thought i would show you guys and get some feedback from some more experienced users. I am pretty sure that i have my air/fuel mixture set too rich judging from the pictures and the performance hasn't seemed quite right (does ok, but not great on the bottom end up to maybe 3/4, and then gets a little worse going up to full throttle.) I was also concerned because when i used to drive it (before the wash) every now and then it would kind of act like it missed an ignition or something and just go PFFFF and lose power until then next strokes kicked in and it started running normally again. Now after i washed it i tried to take it for a ride, and it was doing this very frequently and had significantly less power and was extremely difficult to start. (its not the spark plug, i just changed it after the wash). I blame this mostly on the cdi hanging onto life by a single thread, but thought it was worth noting. any ideas? I am also concerned about maybe having a slight air leak where the head and engine meet the gasket. i hadn't properly torqued the bolts and nuts before and i could see some oil slowly seeping onto the engine cooling fins over a long period of time (also refer to pics to see what i mean). one time right after turning the bike off, i was close to the engine examining i