Brand new project

Wolfie65

Local time
2:14 AM
Hi, total Newbie here!I ended up with a 1961 Schwinn Tornado (girl's version), which has what looks like a Stingray handlebar, has been through several non-original front wheels - the current one is 24" - and got spray painted 'dusty rose' at some point.Original rear wheel with coaster brake, equipped at this point with a nice, beefy IRC mountain bike tire, fits thanks to a generous bead, despite the fact that the rear wheel is the slightly smaller old English size.It currently also has a really low banana seat, which will end up in a yard sale, and be replaced with a better seat and MUCH longer seat post.I also plan on stripping it and re-painting it something like electric blue, which would be close to the original color.Having pedaled this bike before, I know how H E A V Y it is, this is a mountain city and going uphill on this thing is not a pleasure, even if you're used to biking, which I am.Downhills are scary until you get used to the coaster brake.....That's what gave me the idea to try to turn it into what the Germans call a Mofa - the fact that it's a girl's bike does make it look a little bit like the Puch Maxis - currently looking for engine options.I do want to keep it at 50cc's or below, so it still counts as a 'bicycle' as far as New Mexico law is concerned, most everything out there seems to be 66/80 cc's, so suggestions are welcome!Plenty of clearance all around, this is a very bare-bones model, the only potential problem I can see so far would be that the gas tank would have to sit at an angle or be braced somehow.Input greatly appreciated!

Welcome to the forum. One member made a fake top tube for mounting the tank on his step-thru bike.

There actually exists a product called a saris bike beam which adds a top bar to a step through frame. Bolts on and I believe it's adjustable as far as length.