Clutch bucking bar diameter? make my own bucking bar?

jatgm1

Local time
7:08 PM
what is the diameter of the bucking bar? and if i were to go to home depot, what kind of metal rod can i buy, then cut into pieces and grind to replace the bucking bar? i mean, its like 5$ for a 1 inch piece of metal on ebay, how the hell to those numbers add up?

it's 8mm, but 5/16 would be ok if you use hardened steel & polish the ends well

8mm hardened steel rod? what would be the cheapest way to cut it? and polish it? im an apartment mechanic so, you know, limited tools. could i get some sorta hack saw and sandpaper? and if so what kind would be recommended?

hacksaw would be a pain in the ass, know anyone with an angle grinder? or even a dremel would work

you could go at it with bolt cutters and sand down the burr made by those.

might be a better idea overall to just try and get a cheap angle grinder.. the bolt cutter idea could work though. is there a particular type of sandpaper that would work best? sorry for the dumb questions but this 2 stoke kit is how im learning about engines and whatnot.

just cloth backed and around 240 grit

harbor freight has a passable angle grinder for about $20

I'd either order one or look for someone nearby with a dead motor for parts - what happened to your old one?

I've been thinking on this bucking bar thing. First, the length I see repeated is 28mm. At the very least, stainless steel. Perhaps the shoulder off a longer bolt. Grade 5, 5/16". Or Grade 8 - I use Grade 8 whenever possible. You could also use the base end of a hardened 5/16" drill bit.

The clutch on these HT motors is pretty simple and dependable. The only weak spot iOS the bucking bar / cam interface. You have to have a clutch cam in reserve ready to go at all times.

Ideally, I'd envision a kind of hydraulic activator that would simply push the bucking bar in to disengage the clutch. It would have to be small and dependable.

Just me thinking out loud.