Build or buy expansion chamber?

BikeBuilder43

Local time
4:58 AM
Hi guys. I am new to the idea of expansion chambers. I am thinking of building one but with very little knowledge I dont know if its a good idea. What materials should I use? How to connect the piping? Who sells the best expansion chambers? I dont care how loud it is. I live in the country.

making one... i tried brazing one, but got really lazy and simply butted it together with the inevitable result that it fell apart. very quickly. my plan was to use aerosol cans, and leave tabs on the edges to do "lap" joins, which are far stronger. anyways, that was just an experiment. brazing can be a legitimate, fairly easy method to join it all up, but you gotta do it properly!

every other pipe i have made i have welded, that is, about twenty pipes. in theory its quite simple, roll some 0.8-1mm steel into shaped cones, weld together, viola! attach!

in practice its a beetch... hard to roll cones, hard to hold them in place when you tack them together, and you really need to make a few trial pipes from stiff paper to get the layout right. a LOT of work. it gets easier with practice, but still...if you aint experienced... have fun! theres a few programs you can download that will at least let you figure out the templates needed for each "segment", after having used some type of software (or plain number crunching) to figure out a good pipe design.

its the way to do it if you want real definite results.

no, i never bothered making the pipe in the aforementioned link. i did intend to, because i think its basically a joke, but i cant make head or tail of the "spreadsheet" layout. i wanted to test it against certain other pipes designed on software that does seem to produce results just so i could laugh, but yeah... anyways. thats another story. saying anything at this time is sheer conjecture :)