Build walkthrough

Huntington

Local time
5:34 PM
Let the build begin!

So I have started on my new MB build. I have gotten a lot of help from venders found on this site and for that I thank you. I wanted to do something special with this build but keep it as "bolt on" as possible. Im a student now and have no machining tools so a lot of customizing is out of the question. I wanted to start with a sleek frame, something with a built in tank. My only real option was Grubee's GT2 bicycle. It is a nice bicycle with nice features but a bit over priced. So be it, I went ahead and bought one. I was a little sad when it arrived, the paint was not only bad, I came to find out its rusting. I took a few pics and sent them to USABikes and they agreed to shoot me $100 for my troubles.

The first thing I did was take that stupid looking sticker off. It came off nice and easy with a blow dryer and some goo b gone. After looking at the bicycle for awhile I decided I didnt like the bad looking welds on the top tank. What could be a nice design is discredited by poor workmanship.

Well heck, I got $100 right! Off to Auto Zone. I picked up some painting supply's, stripper, and bondo.

$130 later I took apart my bicycle. I was worried the bottom bracket would be a pain to take off, I have no bottom bracket tool. But luckily it was only finger tight. Infact everything on the bicycle is only finger tight!

The stripper ate through the China paint like a sailor in a ***** house. About an hour later and I had a nice clean frame. Soap and water to clean off the nasty paint remover, a quick sanding job, and Im ready to bondo. Im just doing the top tank and maybe some other spots depending on how much bondo I have left. Right now I wait, drink a beer and give it about 20min till I can sand the bondo and try to get some shape on the tank.

I have a few pics to post, Ill do that later, just wanted to get this thread started.