building a motorized bike, looking for information

XkronusX

Local time
10:25 AM
hi all im new to building motorized bikes and im looking for any important info you have to offer.

what i have already is a 21 speed bike, im looking to make it a chain drive using a sprocket on the left side of the back tire to drive the wheel directly without stopping the possible use of peddling in case anything happens.

what im looking to find out is what type of chainsaw/chainsaw motor i should look at getting, i was thinking weed wacker at first but i have heard that they dont have a clutch so its more difficult and not the way to go with a build.

also im looking at info on gear ratio, my rides are going to be mainly in town, flat land one possible uphill, which i can bike through so not a big incline. but i heard its dangerous doing inclines with certain gear ratios.

im also looking at the best possible breaking system, possibly disk breaks or some other type of system.

so my questions in bullet points for easy reading are

- best chainsaw motor to use
- reasons for clutch
- best gear ratio, how to achive good gear ratio
- dangers of inclines
- how to govern if nessecary
- kill switch how to
- best breaks to use

Thanks in advance for any help :D

can't help you with a motor or ratios but i can tell you its nice to have a clutch so you can run the motor while the bike isnt moving.

what brakes is your bike already equipped with?
do you have a budget?

Links to eBay may include affiliate code. If you click on an eBay link and make a purchase, this forum may earn a small commission.