California laws on motorized bikes



sactownie

Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2013
Messages
168
$100 deductible on theft & collision ... $160/yr. (MB including attached accessories valued around $1,200)
State Farm.
$13.33 a month is really good piece of mind just for the the theft part. I suppose you need to have receipts for everything since its homebuilt?
 

determined

Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2014
Messages
42
Does anyone out there know about the sacramento ca. Laws regarding motor bikes? I hear from other people that the cops dont bother you .
 

sactownie

Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2013
Messages
168
Does anyone out there know about the sacramento ca. Laws regarding motor bikes? I hear from other people that the cops dont bother you .
It probably kind of depends where you ride. I ride allot north of sac, antelope, north highlands areas and I haven't been bothered in a year of riding. just make sure to have a helmet cause I have had them pace me, checking me out before and as soon as I start peddling they take off and leave me alone.
 

sactownie

Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2013
Messages
168
I wear a skid lid branded helmet, its a 1/2 helmet that allot of Harley riders wear, it almost looks like a bicycle helmet but allot heavier. It costed $40 at the motorcycle shop on watt ave in north highlands. I have seen other motor bikers wear bicycle helmets but I think as long as it looks like a motorcycle helmet your ok. the fact that a bicycle helmet cost the same as a motorcycle helmet i just got the motorcycle helmet!

I just remembered this, allot of law enforcement officers are on the lookout for DOT approved helmets. take your chances with a bicycle helmet or get a motorcycle helmet.

The law is that if your going faster then 20mph you need a DOT approved motorcycle Helmet
 

k-wad

Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2014
Messages
61
determined,

Motorized bicycle riders in the state of California are required to have a M2 (motorized bike/moped) or M1 (motorcycle) license.
Go back one page in this thread and read what MotorBicycleRacing said in post number 2. He is spot on to what the vehicle code requires.

Also, the vehicle code here doesn't mention motor size, but, stipulates that the motor can not produce more than 2 horsepower (this is why the 138cc Whizzer motorbikes are legally considered mopes here).
I think the "under 49cc and no license required" myth came from a couple of sources. When the Chinese 2 stroke motors first started getting popular, that was what all the dealers claimed (under 49cc, no license required). It may have been true in other states, but, not here in California.
I also think some people got confused over a change in the law that pertained to scooters. About 10 years ago, they changed the laws so that you can ride a 49cc scooter (goped with a seat) without needing to register it. However, even with the 49cc scooter, the driver needs a regular class C license.

The only motorized thing that you can ride legally without a license in California is an electric bicycle.
If anyone tells you otherwise, they are either misinformed, or trying to sell you a bicycle motor kit......
 

LR Jerry

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2011
Messages
1,031
If my memory serves me correctly there's an automatic transmission requirement. That means technically you need a centrifugal clutch. I'm sure that would also depend on the area you live in as well as to whether or not it was enforced.
 

sactownie

Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2013
Messages
168
K-wad is correct with the legal stuff. If you do not have a license of any kind do not draw any unnecessary attention to yourself and you'll likely not be bothered but of course just like life itself nothing is guaranteed.
 
Top