Can a Robin overheat?

mifletz

Local time
8:20 AM
If a normally functioning Robin 35 is used for an hour going up a very steep 10 mile hill at 6mph on a pedal-assisted friction mountain bike with 7/8" roller at maximum gas, is there a risk of it overheating and seizing up?

Will the engine give premonitory distress signs?

And on a flat surface, for how long can the engine take maximum speed non-stop (in my case c20mph)?

Indefinitely? Or is it best to stop and cool off at intervals?

How heat-tolerant are these engines of heavy and very heavy use?

Last edited:
I'm by no means an expert on these engines nor any others but it's never good to maintain WOT (wide open throttle) on any engine without backing off now and then. Just my .02 cents.

An engine is like a woman....treat it real good & give it WOT only occasionally & it'll love u forever. :D

If you can maintain 6 mph, then I think your hill isn't that steep and you should be all good. I would only worry if you were going really slow and doing this everyday. Then, I would worry that would wear the clutch prematurely.

I wouldn't worry about about wrecking your friction drive. Ride WOT if you want. I used to have 1.1hp 7/8 inch friction drive on a tandem. I always thought I would burn out the clutch but never did. I've tried to go up many hills with 2 people on it in which I've had to turn around for lack of torque.

One more thing, the throttle doesn't directly affect how much fuel you are burning. The throttle simply controls how much air can get in the engine. So when you open the throttle you are just allowing the engine to rev up (if it can). So when you are going slow up a hill, you are not working it as hard as you might think.