Can I run 2 cycle bike without muffler?

Paul w u

Local time
6:00 PM
I'm kind of new to the 2 stroke bicycle motor thing and I have a slightly pressing question. Is it possible to run the bike (not sure what make or model at this point as I got the bike from my uncle pre assembled) with the muffler. I don't plan to leave it that way for long tho. The bolted keep stripping in the threads and the muffler keeps coming loose, probably bc of all the shaking and lack of a clamp to hold it from doing so. I managed to make it to work but I still have to make the return trip and it is too far to peddle and I have no access to thread tappers till I get home. Wondering if its safe to just take it off for the half hour ride home.

I wouldn't, if you suck cold air back into cylinder, you may damage the piston.

2-strokes run fine without mufflers, if your muffler pipe is an expansion chamber you might notice a low to medium power loss, but you should be fine.

Here's a little rant, but it's necessary.
Weather or not crassius is 100% right, or wrong for that matter, yes, cold a air on hot parts introduces a chance of heat shock, this chance is very thin, even pulling air back through the exhaust is very unlikely. What I think he's thinking of is the chance of particles, or foreign objects, like dirt or pebbles. These can cause damage, but unless your exhaust port is facing strait forward, and under the frame of your bike, than you should be fine.

Here is an actual rant, but it's helpful.