Carby Carb help

L

Lex

Hey guys!
Absolute noob to carbed 2 strokes here. Used to own an R6, had to sell it because my rooomates (a couple) decided they wanted to disappear on me and I wanted to get back on two wheels for the low $ and found out that there is a huge cult for these types of things (thank goodness). Built a few v8’s, one fuel injected one carbed but my uncle did the tuning on the carb so i am by no means very familiar with them. As you can tell I’m a younger fella.
Anyways the purpose of this thread is because I’m struggling with the carb tuning and that uncle isn’t nearby anymore to lend a hand. I’ve been flipping through these forums and learned a lot but am struggling to find an answer to some questions.
Background: i am just past the break in period where a lot of guys said don’t mess with the mixture and don’t mess with the carb tuning just yet. So i did exactly that.
Well now I’m trying to tune it and it’s kicking my a**.
I got the throttle cable adjusted right to where it fully closes and fully opens.
I understand there are 3 methods of tuning: idle screw for idle and very low rpms, jet for 1/4-3/4 throttle, and needle with adjustable c-clip for 3/4+.
Scenario: the idle is very very touchy, i have it in the range right now where if i either turn it just 1/8 turn CW it vibrates like crazy and idles really high, and 1/8 the other way it bogs threatening to stall. Where it’s at right now still doesn’t seem like a nice smooth idle, kinda pings a little bit.
Mid throttle it sometimes 4strokes i think but it’s quiet, not a loud healthy combustion every other cycle.
Wide open throttle seems to surge and cut surge and cut very consistently.
Overall it runs decently and I’m honestky impressed with how fun this little thing is.

It seemed to run more and more rich as it broke in, not the opposite. I get anywhere from 75-90mpg