Carb to intake gasket

braddenn

Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2017
Messages
48
If they are both for the 4-strokes, they are prolly slightly different, but the end result is that you can install a 2-stroke carb.

Mine is an "NT intake" but I have an RT carb installed. Either way, the factory 4-stroke carb isn't very reliable and hates ethanol.




Wat did u do about the little black hose that went from breather to the motor
 


gary55

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2012
Messages
3,700
Meh, that gasket is a pain in the ass, so is the carb attached to it. I would toss it very very far.

I have nothing but years and years of profanity for the Huasheng carburetor.

Far superior:
View attachment 87073

I did a search for "4-stroke NT intake" and found mine on Amazon last year for under $20. Best upgrade I've done.

edit:



You're too young to be having these senior moments!
Did you have to re-jet? I hate admitting this, but I've had one hell of a time getting mine to run right with the NT. I can't seem to get the balk out of it with wide open throttle. I jet down it gets worse, I jet up it gets a little better but still balking even though it's running richer than sh*t. I just bought a longer intake and I have a long pipe hoping that the scavenging it will add might cure the issue. Any input you might have on this just may save me from baldness. Well sh*t I just re-read what you said. Your running a RT. Is that the Rundong Dellorto clone, or something different?
 

Street Ryderz

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
3,101
Did you have to re-jet? I hate admitting this, but I've had one hell of a time getting mine to run right with the NT. I can't seem to get the balk out of it with wide open throttle. I jet down it gets worse, I jet up it gets a little better but still balking even though it's running richer than sh*t. I just bought a longer intake and I have a long pipe hoping that the scavenging it will add might cure the issue. Any input you might have on this just may save me from baldness. Well sh*t I just re-read what you said. Your running a RT. Is that the Rundong Dellorto clone, or something different?
What size engine are you using?
 

The_Aleman

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
965
Wat did u do about the little black hose that went from breather to the motor
Get a small filter like a Uni and stick it on there. Mine's usually hidden behind my oil drain hose that I moved for pic.

HS49-RTcarb-Uni.jpg


Did you have to re-jet? I hate admitting this, but I've had one hell of a time getting mine to run right with the NT. I can't seem to get the balk out of it with wide open throttle. I jet down it gets worse, I jet up it gets a little better but still balking even though it's running richer than sh*t. I just bought a longer intake and I have a long pipe hoping that the scavenging it will add might cure the issue. Any input you might have on this just may save me from baldness. Well sh*t I just re-read what you said. Your running a RT. Is that the Rundong Dellorto clone, or something different?
Yeah I have the RT clone carb, had to modify cable input and re-jet. I dunno what jet it had in it, but my engine ran very rich and I then put a 68 in it. It still runs slightly rich, I might go with a 67. I'm the wrong guy to ask about full throttle because my setup has a throttle limiter and engine has never seen over 7500RPM lol
 

gary55

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2012
Messages
3,700
Get a small filter like a Uni and stick it on there. Mine's usually hidden behind my oil drain hose that I moved for pic.

View attachment 87484



Yeah I have the RT clone carb, had to modify cable input and re-jet. I dunno what jet it had in it, but my engine ran very rich and I then put a 68 in it. It still runs slightly rich, I might go with a 67. I'm the wrong guy to ask about full throttle because my setup has a throttle limiter and engine has never seen over 7500RPM lol
Mine's a older 144 so it's probably rev limited too. Guess I just need to invest some more time into it to get things dialed in. I didn't build this bike, but I might as well had of since I had to take the whole thing apart and redo it to get it to work right. Another lesson learned. I see you went with a j shaft setup. Mine is J shafted to a 5sp Strumey Archer.
 

The_Aleman

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
965
Yeah...I built mine with an X-RD3 and ran that for a few years...then had another wheel built with an X-RD5 and run that now.

Mine's limited by throttle travel, I use a Go-Ped trigger as a throttle with a wedge in it's mounting base to limit it's pull. This is because my first 3 gears are over 20:1 reduction (3rd gear is ~25:1) and I spend a lot of time in those gears in the Sierra Nevada foothills. Full throttle off the line in 1st or 2nd gear usually results in my rear tire rotating on the rim and tearing my valve stem off. Hence the limiter. I've replaced a lot of rear tubes on this bike since 2010!
 
Top