Centrifugal clutch engages at idle

Status
Not open for further replies.

arnoldAriz

Local time
11:12 AM
I recently bought this Grubee 4G T Belt Drive Complete Gas Powered Engine Kit (80/10T) kit from Pirate Cycles:
http://www.piratecycles1.com/gr4gtbedrcog.html

We are complete newbies with these kits, and have been slowly navigating our way through this build. After a little bit of delay from a stripped one-way bearing (we ended up welding it), we tested it out today and the engine seems to start fine and the sprocket finally turns (yay!), but the centrifugal clutch seems to engage too early and will spin the belt when the engine idles. We removed the bell to check and it looks like the clutch is functioning correctly by expanding only when we throttle. However, once the bell is on, it seems to catch on idle. We also noticed that the bell makes a slight grinding noise on the plate that holds the pulley. It looks like it is a little uneven. Not sure if that makes a difference.

Is there any way to adjust it so that it engages at a higher RPM? After reading this: http://www.bicycle-engines.com/images/honda-cc.pdf we added a washer to each of the shoes. But I am not sure that it made a difference. Do we just need to add more washers? We also read that there might be an adjustment screw somewhere, but the only screw that could logically be an adjustment screw to us seems to tighten automatically when the clutch spins.

I have searched and am not really seeing this issue answered anywhere else online. Any advice would be helpful. Thanks!

Last edited:
First, make sure your clutch is mounted correctly. It's best to get a new .187" key with rounded end and file/grind it to fit. The keyway is metric, so this is necessary anyway. I don't recommend using the key that came with the kit! I found that out the hard way. Hand-fitting a new key will help keep the clutch from wobbling around.