Chain broke- I have no experience with this

jimbojangles

Local time
2:59 AM
So, I just bought my first motorized bike about a month ago and I've been riding it everywhere. The other day my back tire went flat so I went out and bought a new tire and tube because the back tire was bald anyway. I took the back wheel off the bike and replaced the tire and tube, but when putting the wheel back on the bike I was having a bit of trouble. At first the wheel just wasn't spinning, but after adjusting the placement of it, it started spinning fine. So I started up the bike and got about 20-30 feet before I heard a loud metallic snap and that was that.

I guess I'm just looking for advice. I don't know the first thing about fixing it or figuring out what I did wrong. I would like to learn but I don't know where to start.

It's a 49cc motor, not sure what type of chain it was, I can check when I get home from possibly, but I bought the built bike from the guy who did build it on Craigslist, so I don't really know what any of the parts are. If anyone can help me in any way or point me in the direction where I can begin to help myself I would very much appreciate it. Thanks!

Also, I just noticed I can add photos, so if that helps I'd be happy to upload some photos when I get home.