Clutch slow to engage on HS with 4G

lemont1

Local time
6:21 AM
I am just breaking in my second build. It seams to rev a little high before the clutch engages. I dont have a tach and this is my first HS engine so I am just goin by feel. Can I just streach the springs to make it engage at lower rpm's or do I need to get a different set? Is this something that will self adjust as it breaks in? I want to break it in slowly to get the most out it. Am I just worried about nothing (as I said I'm a rookie). Any advice would sure help.

Attachments

• DSC00279.jpg
    DSC00279.jpg
    164.6 KB · Views: 362
I am just breaking in my second build. It seams to rev a little high before the clutch engages. I dont have a tach and this is my first HS engine so I am just goin by feel. Can I just streach the springs to make it engage at lower rpm's or do I need to get a different set? Is this something that will self adjust as it breaks in? I want to break it in slowly to get the most out it. Am I just worried about nothing (as I said I'm a rookie). Any advice would sure help.

Check out this thread by Ocscully:Changing the Stall Speed on Grubee Clutch. Oc. did a ton of work to get find and purchase the correct springs for the 4G.I have the new springs thanx to Oc. and they work great.

Check out this thread by Ocscully:Changing the Stall Speed on Grubee Clutch. Oc. did a ton of work to get find and purchase the correct springs for the 4G.I have the new springs thanx to Oc. and they work great.