Delaware Laws!


New Member
Local time
2:21 AM
Apr 21, 2008
The Delaware law is written in a way to basically keep you from having anything like this. Delaware classifies a bicycle as a two or three wheeled & human powered, with top speeds of less than 10 mph. And at any time if a cop feels your bike is unsafe he can pull you over and give you a ticket. It's ****. Does anyone here have any experiences with Delaware and operating a motorized bike? Most basic off the rack bikes sold these days are capable of at least 25mph. This coming from the state that doesn't require the use of a helmet while on a motorcycle; you just have to have the helmet with you. If you can figure this one out, please let me know.

Delaware Laws

Following is some of the information you will need to know to make your operation of a
Moped and Triped legal, safe, and enjoyable.
- Mopeds and Tripeds shall not be operated upon interstate and limited access highways, nor
shall they be operated on the right-of-way of an operating railroad nor shall they be operated
on any path set aside for the use of bicycles unless the helper motor has been turned off.
- You cannot legally operate a Moped and Triped upon any public road unless you have a
valid driver license.
- Mopeds and Tripeds must be registered under the regulations adopted by the Division of
Motor Vehicles. Registration and re-registration shall be for three years and cost $5.00.
- Mopeds and Tripeds must have a light on front and rear and have a bell or device capable
of giving a signal audible for a distance of a least 100 feet.
- It is important that you watch for traffic as far ahead as possible, be prepared for sudden stops,
for traffic approaching left or right at intersections, and for vehicles pulling out from the curb.
- It is recommended that every person operating or riding a Moped or a Triped wear a safety
helmet and bright, reflective clothing.
Last edited by a moderator:
More Laws (ouch)

2259 Mopeds (Formerly Regs. No. 24 and 26)

1.0 Authority

Pursuant to Sections 101 and 4198M, Title 21, Delaware Code, the following regulations are hereby adopted.

2.0 Mopeds

2.1 Manufacturer's Statement of Origin must be presented to the Division at the time application for registration is submitted.

2.2 Manufacturer's Statement of Origin must include:

2.2.1 Manufacturer's name

2.2.2 Year of manufacture

2.2.3 Vehicle identification or serial number

2.2.4 Maximum piston displacement less than 55cc.

2.2.5 Brake horsepower rated at no more than 2.7

2.2.6 Name and address of manufacturer.

2.3 Certificate of title will be issued, same as on other vehicles. Fee for the title will be the same.

2.4 Vehicle document fee must be paid, same as on all other vehicles.

2.5 Registration card will be issued, same as on other vehicles.

2.6 Fee for registration is $5.00 and shall be valid for 3 years. A moped license plate will be issued and has to be displayed on the rear of the moped so it is clearly visible. All moped registrations will expire on December 31st.

2.7 Records shall be maintained on the vehicle computer files, same as all other vehicles.

2.8 Duplicate title and duplicate registration card fees are the same.

2.9 No inspection of the vehicle is required for mopeds purchased in Delaware unless supporting ownership papers are in question. (For VIN inspection only). Mopeds purchased out of state must be presented for inspection of the VIN.

2.10 Liens can be recorded, same as on all other vehicles.

2.11 No insurance is required.

2.12 No helmet is required by operator unless under 16 years of age.

2.13 Operator must hold a valid driver's license. The license does not have to be endorsed for a motorcycle. License must always be in possession of operator when moped is being operated.

2.14 Regulations applicable to bicycles shall apply whenever a moped is operated upon any public road or upon any path set aside for the exclusive use of bicycles.

2.15 Mopeds shall not be operated on:

2.15.1 interstate highways, such as I-95

2.15.2 limited access highways

2.15.3 the right of way of an operating railroad.

2.15.4 any path set aside for the exclusive use of bicycles unless the helper motor has been turned off.

3.0 Registration and Licensing

3.1 Due to numerous inquiries from non-residents concerning what Delaware will legally recognize for the operation of mopeds, the following information is provided:

Resident of
Moped Must Be Registered
Operator Must Hold A Valid Driver's License




New Jersey


District of Columbia

North Carolina

South Carolina

3.2 Of the above, only the states of Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania and District of Columbia actually have laws requiring the operator of a moped to be a licensed driver. But as a matter of policy, so as to be consistent with the intent of Title 21, Section 4198M, all moped operators must hold valid drivers' licenses when such mopeds are being operated in the State of Delaware.

3.3 Delaware will honor the law of the home state of the moped in regards to the registration of such vehicle. However, the operator of a moped must hold a valid driver's license from his state of residence, regardless of the law in the resident's home state.

3.4 State of residence may be determined by witnessing the driver's license of the operator of the moped.

9 DE Reg. 1988 (06/