Do off grid motors exist?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tierracast

Local time
8:16 AM
I'm a newbie to the idea of riding a motorized bicycle, let alone attempting to build one. Especially since I have zero knowledge on engines of any type, but as a semi-competent older woman I am determined to give it a go.
I have both 2 stroke and 4 stroke engines and if the batteries weren't so costly I would have gone with an electric, but it's still within consideration and maybe the best option for what I have in mind.
After watching a lot of builds on yt putting one together seems doable on a woman's older beach cruiser. The trouble is, the one thing I'd like to add doesn't seem to exist.
What I have in mind is a bike that doesn't need to be plugged in for a charge or filled up with oil to run, but still uses a motor when wanted or needed. I see a few generators self sufficient enough to power lights, electronic ignitions, etc., but nothing where peddling, even if the motors running, can get stored in some sort of a rechargable battery as future power. Or is that only viable by using solar?
I'm thinking if this were possible it would have already been done. Or maybe I'm just not looking in the right places?
I'm in California where having power is now dependent on the whim of the controllers.
What say ye? Thoughts and ideas, please!

Humans used to the vigors of bicycling can pedal roughly 100-150 watts indefinitely, with bursts over 400 watts being possible. You would either need to set up an electric motor that could double as a generator and a motor (ie: it will generate electricity when you pedal, and then drive the pedals when you're not) or have both a generator and an electric motor on the bike. The biggest hurdle with it would be that you'd end up with a bicycle that takes much more energy to get anywhere, since a significant portion of your pedal force would be allocated to charging the battery. Not to mention, the bike itself would be considerably heavy.