Dug it out of the garage...

Steve1990

Local time
1:34 AM
Just thought I'd introduse myself, and give the complete history of my bike.

My name is Steve, and I'm a recent college graduate. 21 years old. I have 2 big hobbies, 1 is my 1996 Mercury Grand Marquis, and the other is bicycles and everything to do with them. I've had a 1980 Puch Newport 2-speed Moped since I was 12, was my first form of motorized transport. Still have it. Thought it would be cool to build something alittle lighter and maybe faster, so....

Back when the flying horse 2009 engines came out, I bought a 66/80cc kit and a cheap(ish) mountain bike, and went to town. Got it together and it ran...sort of. After some messing w/ the carb, it ran pretty well, so I proceeded to ride it around, complete a break-in period (I figure about 250mi). By that point it was running great, it loved the lower fuel/oil ratio (32:1), could do about 32mph with me on it.

Then the **** hit the fan at about 500miles on it. First I busted a motor mount stud on the rear mount, flush with the block. My attempts at repairing it resulted in the block having some damage from the drill bit walking off the hard steel into the softer aluminum. I got it pretty secure with some ingenuity and the one remaining stud (upgraded to a grade-8 bolt), so I continued to ride it. Another tank full or two later, I'm down the street from my house and the motor's chain pops off, put it back not thinking anything of it, and continued on my way. Made it another few hundred feet, and my back wheel stops completely, did a sweet 50' skid mark. The chain was in 2 pieces and the master link was nowhere to be found, the chain tensioner pulley was lodged in my rear wheel, and 16 of the 32 spokes were ripped right out of the wheel.