Engine for first build?

r0ckinricky

Local time
6:21 AM
Im looking to build my own bike, This will be my first build i want the bike to go around 25-30 mph. My question is should i go with a 4-stroke or 2-stroke engine and were can i buy a kit for around 120$. I know with my budget it wont leave me with alot of options but for my first build i dont want to go all out.Thank you for the help.

same thoughts

You know I am where you're at. This is new to me to. I'm thinking of 4 stroking mine, because I have read a lot of articals about the 2 strokes and it seems to me that they are troublesome, but i dunno, like I said Im new too. This is my first build, but I kinda want to go ahead and spend the money upfront to build it right so it will last, but on the other hand IM READY TO RIDE lol....

yea same i just wanna ride. i just want to find a site that has both 4 and 2 stroke engine kits. ik 2 strokes give people problems but i like how the look better i dont want o engine on the back of my bike i want it in the center and i have yet to see a 4-stroke in the center.

2 stroke looks good to me

The main problem I have with the four stroke engines is they were not built to work with bikes. It seems to me that they just take a standard 4 stroke motor and graft it on some kind of base. the two stroke engines were built just for bikes and look like they belong there.

The very nature of two stroke engine also lends itself to more power per weight because the engine is firing every revolution not every other. There is the added benefit that there are no valve train to worry about.

the last thing is that they are usually very inexpensive (CHEEP) If you want to stay under a certain budget the safest way to do so is to go with a two stroke engine.

On the downside they don't seem to last that long and seem to have a propensity for rattling all of their hardware off. The quality of these engines seem to be more hit or miss, depending on what day or hour they were made.