Engine Mounting Bolt

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nahom

Local time
12:19 AM
I have a spare 80cc engine which I took apart ages ago to- recently one of the engine mounting bolts on my working motorized bike snapped off and unfortunately unlike last time where a bit of the bolt was sticking out so I could use vice grips or dremel a flat- this time it is flush with the engine hole it's threaded in- nothing is sticking out.
So before trying my screw extractor set which I've never used before actually- I thought I'd try them on the engine mounting bolts of the engine I took apart months ago- the thread is sticking out for this one so I have loads of room. However no matter how hard I try to drill- nothing is happening!- I used a centre punch but no hole is forming- making a small crater the diameter of the drill is as good as it gets- are the bolts too hard- why is no hole forming?

Edit: ok- I went to the hardware store just now- the guy said the rubbish Ryobi drill I have was fine and that the drill wasn't the problem- it was the drill bits I am using Dewalt HSS steel drill bits - I thought this was the best you could get for metal drilling???
He said he'd have to know what type of metal the engine mounts are and what grade they are and suggested titanium drill bits which is apparently stronger than HSS.
Is this all true?
Has anyone tried taking out the engine mount bolts or something of a similar material with a screw extractor?

Last edited:
I wouldn't expect you to have any trouble at all getting an actual screw extractor (EZ Out or similar/knockoff) to bite into the stud. EZ Outs are brittle (I just read off Google years ago) but the steel of the kit studs is known for being soft as s*** so it shouldn't be a problem.
Tbh you should have known you'd break a mount stud and should never have started it with the original kit studs it came with.. but it happened now.
Doesn't explain why your extractor doesn't work.