Entry Level Motor

TR6SC

Local time
12:58 PM
I'm new to the motorized scene. I've been helping a friend with a '48 Schwinn J Whizzer. Working on it with him has been a lot of fun. I'd like to get or make something of my own, but do not know what the choices are. Would someone please toss out a name or two of motor kits that are worth looking into? Front wheel better than rear wheel drive? Cost? Reliability? Any comments would be greatly appreciated! Thanks. Mike
IMG_2181.JPG

Reliability means Honda, Zenoah, and some others. Kit engines are not reliable trust me. That 1948 engine is probably more reliable than a brand new engine from ebay. They're good to tinker with and improve but if you really want to get around I would go for a belt drive setup with a small 4 stroke but Zenoah makes pretty reliable 2 strokes. On staton inc's website it says any small Japanese 2 stroke can last 50k on their setups. My next bike is going to be belt drive and will purchase a good engine for it. Save yourself the frustration if you get into this hobby and invest in a motor made with real metal and accurate tolerances, but that's just my opinion. Other people will say get a Zeda 80 or whatever and you can if you want but the little Zenoah can go the same speed stock as a stock kit engine and it is 41.5cc while the kit engine is 66cc. GoldenEagleBikeEngines has good setups.

Thanks for the info. I'm realizing that I'm wanting the motor inside the frame, like a Whizzer. Any other bits of input are very welcomed. Thanks.