First build: Does everything look correct

Local time
4:34 AM
This is my first build; and it has taken herculean effort to get this far. I have taken a few links out of the chain but it still seems too long, at the same time it seems that removing one more link would make it too short to fit. I have tried to ride it with the chain set the length in the pics, with the tensioner correctly installed (not just hand-tighten to the frame like in the pic) and the chain jumped off before I even got on to peddle.

I later filed (sharpened) the the teeth the best I could with an illegitimate child file. Haven't ridden since the filing, but I'm told it really helps.

Also, is the wiring correct? I choose the interrupt the flow of electricity approach over the ruin the magneto approach.

Please not the pic with my fingers pinching the chain. I'm trying to show the amount of slack left in the tensioned chain. I also want to know if the sprocket is on even. The circular scratch is from holding a nail at a constant distance from the sprocket. It has been trued, Oh yea.

This thing is so close to running it's scary

Attachments

• _dsc0037.jpg
    _dsc0037.jpg
    198.1 KB · Views: 340
  • _dsc0038.jpg
    _dsc0038.jpg
    222.4 KB · Views: 328
  • _dsc0043.jpg
    _dsc0043.jpg
    319.1 KB · Views: 347
  • _dsc0045.jpg
    _dsc0045.jpg
    195.6 KB · Views: 345
  • _dsc0049.jpg
    _dsc0049.jpg
    179.7 KB · Views: 324
I have taken a few links out of the chain but it still seems too long, at the same time it seems that removing one more link would make it too short to fit.
It happens often, can you try to slightly re-position/improvise the engine ?
Like try moving the back mount down and and the front up slightly.

Also, is the wiring correct? I choose the interrupt the flow of electricity approach over the ruin the magneto approach.

Yep, but from the pic it looks as if the wires go close over the exhaust ?