Tires First build, whats the best tires for mixed riding?

sabakakrazny

Local time
1:23 AM
Starting my first bike build, and while Ive seen lots of things regards slime, and fixes for off road and such, I'm looking at a particular style. So, here's some questions - if they've been answered elsewhere, please direct me! I'm completely new at this, and the idea is to do it right the first time. I've found a LOT of great discussions and technical advice, but a fair bit of its over my head - I'm no dope but this is all a completely new approach to me, and its a tad overwhelming where to get started as I'm not particularly mechanically minded.

There seems a lot of ideas regards slime and thornproof tubes, and so forth - is there a particular tire combo I should consider for city driving instead?

I'm looking mostly at getting around town and less on bike paths and trails - in other words, developed bikeways. Going offroad for me is more on the order of crossing yards and grassy places at events, than dedicated off road and trail riding. Really, I'm street riding and commuting more than anything.

I often drag a trailer - especially for utility rides ( groceries and so on ) and weekend trips. Once I motorize the bike, should I give consideration to the tires on the trailer as well, or would the ones on it do fine?

I have been told that my knobby tires aren't the best for city riding on a MB as they aren't great for traction, but I have no experience with that as yet....is there a better set? I would have thought they'd be better for mixed travelling, but the jury seems out on that. Tires are cheap, comparatively, but it seems not all are equal.

The build will be a GEBE, Honda, and its going on a Roadmaster 26 inch Mountain bike. On a completely different topic, if the bike proves too weak I may upgrade to a better one, but it seems to me that decent rolling stock would be a universal.