Friction drive problems!

yoyofred

Local time
2:17 AM
Hey everyone! This is my first post, and I'm new to motorized bikes. I recently purchased a friction drive kit from bike berry with the 49cc four stroke. Wow what a blast for a couple days! Until the clutch drum ripped in two. The customer service there was not the best, and instantly blamed me for the clutch and drum failing. I was totally disappointed in the way they treated me, so I decided I would just take the loss and buy a staton kit and use my motor on it. I bought the kit with 1 inch roller because that is what Dave recommended, and it does feel like the right fit for my weight. I love riding the bike it goes right up the hills even with my 230 lbs of weight. However, going down the hills is stripping out my clutch drum, pulling the threads right out. It has done this twice with two different clutch drums. I used red locktite and everything. This last one I even JB welded it on after it striped the last time. Hey I got 8 miles out of it lol! Anyone else have this problem? If so what did you do to fix it?

Anyone? I reinstalled my bikeberry kit with a new clutch a clutch drum and this is what happened after 30 min!

Attachments

• 20170612_124002 (1).jpg
    3.1 MB · Views: 818
  • 20170612_123936 (1).jpg
    2.8 MB · Views: 731
Folks with in-frame chain system with the HS-142F face the same issue. My "guess" is that the stock three-arm clutch with the springs are designed for a pocket bike clutch drum. If you ever compared the clutch drum that comes with these kits and the clutch drums in pocket bikes, the pocket bike clutch drums have a smaller diameter. The pocket bike three-arm clutches work with the stock HS-142F clutch drums also.