From Michigan, and very new.

Evan G.

Local time
11:41 AM
Hello, my name is Evan and I'm from the fiery fields of Mid-Michigan (soon to move back to the UP hopefully!). Annnnnyways. I've been wanting to build a Café Racer lately, but I feel like around here, I'd just be wasting gas, and I like the look of Board Trackers most out of any sort of bike anyways.... I just had NO idea until literally last night that people were reproducing bikes like that... I had never thought to search. Nowadays, nobody really thinks about motorized bikes.... anyways... long story short: I have been searching around like a maniac trying to build mine and here are some things I'm looking for help with if anybody knows:

1) I REALLY like the look of the basic Sportsman Flyer bike. But, at 500 bucks, I'm wondering if I could find something competitive with that styling for cheaper?

2) How reliable are the Harbor Freight motors I keep hearing about? I am a long time traveler/street musician/beach bum type (for nearly all of my adult life until recently...and I'm 32..) and I still tend to drift around a lot... so it's important to me that the motor I get have longevity and readily available parts all around the country... especially in Michigans UP where parts can be hard to source sometimes.

3) What are a few of the industry standard frames that are known to be easy to work with and have reasonable prices?

4) Since I camp a lot and plan to use this bike on trails sometimes, etc... I am wondering how difficult it would be to wire up some kind of battery system so I could charge a phone or a laptop etc... how much that would cost... etc...

5) Has anybody used one of the snow bike conversions in the Winter in deep snow?