Gasbikes 66cc 12v Generator in action

Baconator101

Active Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2017
Messages
254
That's alotta current. Maybe he's trying to turn his bike into an electric golf cart. Just riding a buncha batteries.
 


DuctTapedGoat

Active Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2010
Messages
1,005
Ok do you need 1.2 amps or 60 watts at 12volts? You can't supply 60 watts at 1.2 amps unless you're supplying 50 volts...
60W 1.2A is the amount necessary to light a cigarette lighter which is redeemed from a standard 12v battery. This is why CCA is important, it might look like 50v, but it's just higher amps of 12v.
 

DuctTapedGoat

Active Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2010
Messages
1,005
That's alotta current. Maybe he's trying to turn his bike into an electric golf cart. Just riding a buncha batteries.
Cigarette lighter, 60w 1.2a
Once I get a cigarette lighter working I'll be able to do whatever the hell I want.

Charge my phone, watch TV, electric drive. Anything less than that is a 10v experience.
 

Frankenstein

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2016
Messages
5,078
Exactly. Who isn't trying to generate that same amount of tangible power?

I work on it every day to generate CCA I can immediately deliver to a front wheel.

Pretty certain once the cigarette lighter works I can install anything up to 60w rating, however that accessory requires CCA to function.

What it is gonna take is the white wire through a rectifier and then a switch to be engaged once the motor is in operation IN ADDITION to the 10w from the gen and 10w from the 2 dynamos. 30w is only halfway there, 2 more dynamos increases to 40w, but that's not enough - still 20w short. So 2 more different Dynamo models are necessary for new locations and harnesses (USB model) can net 1A each, but only at 5v, which is 10v\10w. 5w more from a Minigen Max upgrade puts the final number to 55watts peak, after regulated, it will actually be around just below 3A to have a SLA battery charging.

The 12v gen is cool, but without 6 dynamos and the white wire it's just a little too dim for my taste.
It doesn't require CCA, it just requires amperage, I get the idea that you are using but it sounds weird, mind you the wires you hook to that lighter need to handle the same power you're using, so if you want to supply 60w at 12v then you need 5 amps of juice and you'll need the wires to handle that too. Don't go smaller than 12 gauge automotive wire.

A device doesn't actually require CCAs, that's just what a battery can do, never specifically a measure of the current a device will need to operate at a specified voltage. If you want to use CCA and amperage interchangeably try and notify the people you're talking to so they don't think you are referring to car batteries when you really mean plain amperage.

Exactly. Who isn't trying to generate that same amount of tangible power?

I work on it every day to generate CCA I can immediately deliver to a front wheel.

Pretty certain once the cigarette lighter works I can install anything up to 60w rating, however that accessory requires CCA to function.

What it is gonna take is the white wire through a rectifier and then a switch to be engaged once the motor is in operation IN ADDITION to the 10w from the gen and 10w from the 2 dynamos. 30w is only halfway there, 2 more dynamos increases to 40w, but that's not enough - still 20w short. So 2 more different Dynamo models are necessary for new locations and harnesses (USB model) can net 1A each, but only at 5v, which is 10v\10w. 5w more from a Minigen Max upgrade puts the final number to 55watts peak, after regulated, it will actually be around just below 3A to have a SLA battery charging.

The 12v gen is cool, but without 6 dynamos and the white wire it's just a little too dim for my taste.
Now this "this watts plus those watts equal this many watts" thing... Watts are more of a raw power type of thing, where you can change the voltage and amperage all around and still obtain the same number of watts. It's what the electric company charges you by, it's what tells you specifically how much power a light bulb will try to consume, it's what will pull more current or voltage if one or the other dropped.

If you don't have a sure fire way to regulate the voltage out equally then your amps are going to vary wildly while the light (or whatever) stays determined to draw its wattage. The resistance of the device will stay the same, which is why it all gets weird.

Maybe consider a very large capacitor to clean up some of the power before delivering it to anything, especially since a Dynamo only produces anything when the bike is rolling, and if it's rolling too slow it won't do enough.

By the way what voltage is the Dynamo supposed to run at?

6 dynamos... And the white wire that really should be left alone? Are you sure you wouldn't rather just get a decent battery and charge it now and then? I mean I went through the same insanity that you are, then realized it's just not a practical thing to do and the maintenance of all that wire and hookups and rectifiers and math it just seemed too f***ing stupid for anyone to bother dealing with.

I picked up a nice 7 amp capacity sla deep cycle, takes up a fraction of my storage space in my ammo can pannier, and I have a nice cheaply bought charger from Walmart that even came with a proprietary quick connect, all I do is open the box, connect it, and forget it. In a couple hours my battery is fully charged and it lasts plenty long even with my 10w headlamp and just over half an amp worth of led strip lights.

I think I spent 30 or 35 dollars on the 2 items, and putting it in the bike was easy, it's reliable, and simple, and only has 2 points of failure unlike the 12 piece suit you want your bike to wear. I think I spent enough time on this subject, and you really want to make a huge huge fiasco with this generator business, even worse than what I wanted (one large Dynamo producing all my energy requirements) so I guess I'll just watch.

By the way, I've seen a tractor Dynamo put on a bike for power generation, maybe look into that and make it a single large output generator, http://m.ebay.com/itm/DYNAMO-ALTERNATOR-John-Deere-650-750-Diesel-Tractor-MIA10312-GP9150-185046160-/152051922024?hash=item2367003468:g:HN8AAOSwYHxWJxXx&_trkparms=pageci%3Aab6f8e9f-334e-11e7-b1c8-74dbd1800d33%7Cparentrq%3Ae40f5b9015b0a88f15394674fffdda32%7Ciid%3A4 is something like I was looking at, it's 12v regulated output and produces 10 amps or 120watts.

If you put that, with a sizable battery with a CCA output that matches your needs you can create a dependable system using 3 or 4 parts instead of more than a dozen.
 

DuctTapedGoat

Active Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2010
Messages
1,005
It doesn't require CCA, it just requires amperage, I get the idea that you are using but it sounds weird, mind you the wires you hook to that lighter need to handle the same power you're using, so if you want to supply 60w at 12v then you need 5 amps of juice and you'll need the wires to handle that too. Don't go smaller than 12 gauge automotive wire.

A device doesn't actually require CCAs, that's just what a battery can do, never specifically a measure of the current a device will need to operate at a specified voltage. If you want to use CCA and amperage interchangeably try and notify the people you're talking to so they don't think you are referring to car batteries when you really mean plain amperage.



Now this "this watts plus those watts equal this many watts" thing... Watts are more of a raw power type of thing, where you can change the voltage and amperage all around and still obtain the same number of watts. It's what the electric company charges you by, it's what tells you specifically how much power a light bulb will try to consume, it's what will pull more current or voltage if one or the other dropped.

If you don't have a sure fire way to regulate the voltage out equally then your amps are going to vary wildly while the light (or whatever) stays determined to draw its wattage. The resistance of the device will stay the same, which is why it all gets weird.

Maybe consider a very large capacitor to clean up some of the power before delivering it to anything, especially since a Dynamo only produces anything when the bike is rolling, and if it's rolling too slow it won't do enough.

By the way what voltage is the Dynamo supposed to run at?

6 dynamos... And the white wire that really should be left alone? Are you sure you wouldn't rather just get a decent battery and charge it now and then? I mean I went through the same insanity that you are, then realized it's just not a practical thing to do and the maintenance of all that wire and hookups and rectifiers and math it just seemed too f***ing stupid for anyone to bother dealing with.

I picked up a nice 7 amp capacity sla deep cycle, takes up a fraction of my storage space in my ammo can pannier, and I have a nice cheaply bought charger from Walmart that even came with a proprietary quick connect, all I do is open the box, connect it, and forget it. In a couple hours my battery is fully charged and it lasts plenty long even with my 10w headlamp and just over half an amp worth of led strip lights.

I think I spent 30 or 35 dollars on the 2 items, and putting it in the bike was easy, it's reliable, and simple, and only has 2 points of failure unlike the 12 piece suit you want your bike to wear. I think I spent enough time on this subject, and you really want to make a huge huge fiasco with this generator business, even worse than what I wanted (one large Dynamo producing all my energy requirements) so I guess I'll just watch.

By the way, I've seen a tractor Dynamo put on a bike for power generation, maybe look into that and make it a single large output generator, http://m.ebay.com/itm/DYNAMO-ALTERNATOR-John-Deere-650-750-Diesel-Tractor-MIA10312-GP9150-185046160-/152051922024?hash=item2367003468:g:HN8AAOSwYHxWJxXx&_trkparms=pageci%3Aab6f8e9f-334e-11e7-b1c8-74dbd1800d33%7Cparentrq%3Ae40f5b9015b0a88f15394674fffdda32%7Ciid%3A4 is something like I was looking at, it's 12v regulated output and produces 10 amps or 120watts.

If you put that, with a sizable battery with a CCA output that matches your needs you can create a dependable system using 3 or 4 parts instead of more than a dozen.
I just say what I say how it applies.

The dynamos are all such garbage. Headlamp is 10v rearlamp is 0.5v
So even tho it's advertised as 12v, it's only 10.5v after bridged.

I have a 1.2w 12v led projector and all 3 gens at once wont glow it up vivid. The cigarette lighter got warm one day after miles of trying to get it red.

I mentioned a while ago, if my Tensioner was a generator I could probably find the right amount of power. If I find an extra 100 bucks I'd totally check out what's going on with that tractor dynamo.
 

Baconator101

Active Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2017
Messages
254
I just say what I say how it applies.

The dynamos are all such garbage. Headlamp is 10v rearlamp is 0.5v
So even tho it's advertised as 12v, it's only 10.5v after bridged.

I have a 1.2w 12v led projector and all 3 gens at once wont glow it up vivid. The cigarette lighter got warm one day after miles of trying to get it red.

I mentioned a while ago, if my Tensioner was a generator I could probably find the right amount of power. If I find an extra 100 bucks I'd totally check out what's going on with that tractor dynamo.
Check this out ducttapedgoat. Just use a small flexible hose and bam. Forcedairintake.
 

Attachments

DuctTapedGoat

Active Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2010
Messages
1,005
Check this out ducttapedgoat. Just use a small flexible hose and bam. Forcedairintake.
I would cut a hole into the existing carb, and pump air in, and excess out the old 4pipe intake. That's a 16cfm fan, on a battery it's delivering at least 2x maybe 3x the theoretical optimal air environment. May actually percolate the carb or filter.

That's a pretty great fan.
 

Baconator101

Active Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2017
Messages
254
I would cut a hole into the existing carb, and pump air in, and excess out the old 4pipe intake. That's a 16cfm fan, on a battery it's delivering at least 2x maybe 3x the theoretical optimal air environment. May actually percolate the carb or filter.

That's a pretty great fan.
Just use a variable speed control knob for the fan.
 

Frankenstein

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2016
Messages
5,078
I just say what I say how it applies.

The dynamos are all such garbage. Headlamp is 10v rearlamp is 0.5v
So even tho it's advertised as 12v, it's only 10.5v after bridged.

I have a 1.2w 12v led projector and all 3 gens at once wont glow it up vivid. The cigarette lighter got warm one day after miles of trying to get it red.

I mentioned a while ago, if my Tensioner was a generator I could probably find the right amount of power. If I find an extra 100 bucks I'd totally check out what's going on with that tractor dynamo.
http://m.ebay.com/itm/MIA10338-Dynamo-For-John-Deere-Lawn-Tractors-2243-322-330-332-790-F912-/231806317002?hash=item35f8bbb1ca:g:sPMAAOSwa~BYWCI-&_trkparms=pageci%3Aab6f8e9f-334e-11e7-b1c8-74dbd1800d33%7Cparentrq%3Ae40f5b9015b0a88f15394674fffdda32%7Ciid%3A15
60 bucks 20amps.

And yeah, that 16cfm mini blower could actually start making a difference. Now once the crankcase psi starts going over pressure for the crank seals and they leak like nuts or plain blow out what will be the next solution to this never ending problem?

A good hp boost would be a bigger 2 smoke.
 
Top