G'day from Melbourne, Australia

BradJ80

Local time
1:11 AM
Hi Folks,

My name is Brad Jensen, I'm an electronic engineer living and working in Melbourne, Australia and have a keen interest in engines: petrol, steam and electric and their applications.

I recently purchased a 48cc kit from MBB imports in Sydney from their Ebay store...
http://stores.ebay.com.au/MBB-IMPORTS

I have spent the past 2 wees fitting it to my 24" Malvern Star mountain bike. The information and advice on this forum has been invaluable, and I have learnt so much in such a short time. Especially the noob guide:
http://www.motoredbikes.com/showthread.php?t=11986

I have signed up to this forum to hopefully help others as much as others have helped me!

I am lucky enough to work for a company which has a fully equipped machine shop with access to lathes, milling machine, welding eqipment etc, which has made the installation of this kit a breeze. Having access to these resources has allowed me to make custom engine mounts and lengthen and modify the exhaust.
It's up and running and ready for it's first long(ish) ride. I hope to post some pics soon.

This weekend I hope to head out for a few hours and start breaking in the motor.

Will let you know how it all goes.
Brad

G'day Brad,

I joined the forum this week as well - have also learnt a lot in a shot space of time. What I wouldn't give to have access to some of the equipment you have in the workshop to make custom engine mounts etc. Post up pics of your build!

I've done about 10k's on my bike now (most on my bike trainer in the back yard because it was p*ssing down all day) and I've noticed the head bolts get loose quickly. So make sure you take a torque wrench with you if you are going far from home - I'm hoping mine will settle down once the gaskets are bedded in properly and I can venture further for longer without having to re tighten them. Otherwise everything else seems to be holding together fine (I used a lot of loctite).

Andrew