Greetings from the Florida Suncoast

Nuttsy

Local time
11:39 PM
Been checking out this site for a while now and decided to join in. A little history 1st.
Like so many of you, since i was a kid (too many years ago) I always wanted to put a motor on a bike and forget the pedaling. Being a Cop's kid...DISALLOWED!
Well, I always loved my bike then and now. The things you experience while cycling you just don't get in a car. Cycling was sorely missed these many years and a few years ago I started riding to work in the afternoons. I am self employed as a pool service tech. and am home for lunch daily. After lunch I could pedal the 3 miles to my pm jobs and really enjoyed that. So much so I bought a new bike. Then I got the brilliant idea that I could actually do my job all day by bike if I used the bus system to transport me the furthest distances and connect on bike. So for the last 3 years that's what I've done and liked it a lot, 'cept for winter and the rainy days. Well, fast forward to today and fuel prices, increased bus fares, schedule changes, construction, etc. I needed to be more independent.
Searching the net I found so many bike engine kits I was overwhelmed. Yet, they were mostly all selling the same goods. I have to admit, I loved the old Whizzer look and the idea of an old cruiser bike with the top mounted tank and mid engine looked great! So, I was going to go for the Motorcycle "look".
Wrong! Floriduh law says I have to have all fed. DOT requirements; register as a moped; license plates, etc... PSSSHHHH! Gotta find a way to do this 'stealth' then. Not that I am opposed to lights, etc., just the imposed taxes and registration and the whole BIG BROTHER deal. Yeah, grew up in the 60's and 70's.