Greetings from The Phantom

Status
Not open for further replies.

Phantom

Local time
11:00 AM
So nice to be here! I've learned a lot from this forum, and have decided to join. Perhaps I may even be able to contribute something of value.

I commute via bicycle, but my passion is long-distance, fully loaded touring. I've been cycling seriously for about 25 years, including a 10-year stretch where I gave up my car (by choice) to return to the simplicity of riding a bike. Eventually, changing careers into construction necessitated buying a pick-up truck, but I'm out of that game now, and for three years and counting I'm back to just two wheels. "Simplify! Simplify! Simplify!" [Thoreau]

About a year ago I ventured into motorized cycling: a 38cc four-stroke GEBE. I made a few mods (larger fuel tank and rear-mounted basket) and have been very pleased with its performance and reliability. My newest toy is a DIY electric. I converted a 26-inch mountain bike into a 16-speed (2x8) mid-drive shifter. It's a blast to ride and has got some serious kick.

Thank you to all who have contributed to this forum and made it a supportive, helpful and fun place!

-- The Phantom

Last edited:
Hello to The Phantom, always glad to here from a new member and you made a timely entrance, I have a mountain bike on the way and was wondering if I should go hub motor or mid drive, any input would be appreciated.

Hello to The Phantom, always glad to here from a new member and you made a timely entrance, I have a mountain bike on the way and was wondering if I should go hub motor or mid drive, any input would be appreciated.

Here are some pro's and con's of both systems (by no means a complete list, just what comes to mind first).

Hub Motor

Pros:
Simple build (basically swap out a standard wheel with a motorized one, add the electronics and go!)
Probably cheaper than a mid-drive
Excellent performance on flat terrain, since this is what most hub motors are optimized for

Cons: