Hello from the "Land of Entrapment"

gharring

Local time
12:30 PM
I am a student at the University of New Mexico and very interested in exploring ways to economize my commute. I am completely new to the concept of motorizing my bicycle and am here to research the best, most efficient way to do so.

Which way do I go now? I mean, nobody in this town has a company dedicated to offering this sort of product. The one guy who does is relatively useless in offering information. He just wants me to give him $900.00 bucks to fit my bike with his engine of choice. I can't say that I blame him, but I won't be surrendering to his bias--especially when I know that motorized bicycle kits sell for as little as $150.00 on the net. So.....

What is the most efficient system? So far I have seen Belt Drives, Chain Drives, Friction systems (seem blah), jet engines (no way!!). Of course I will research this forum thoroughly but if anyone can offer a good suggestion of what I should be focusing on I would appreciate it. I am looking for the BEST, MOST EFFICIENT way to motorize my 24'' Canondale mountain bike.
Thanks for your time,
Gabriel

hi ring; there are members in n.m., chk. in members list. if i had the money, a gebe belt drive w/ subaru is my choice around 600 and 1hr install, chin. kits atound 180 and hours to mount and much fiddleing. time vs money. good luck mitch

That depends on your circumstances.Please give some particulars 1) How long your commute, 2)Flat or hilly terrain,3) Cost below $500 or not,4) reliability & durability paramount? 5) your level of mechanical knowledge and ability,6)access to tools.

Dvivendyk;

The commute is about 24 miles round trip.
The terrain is basically flat, with a steady 10 degree slope.
I will spend as much as $700.00 if a superior product warrants such cost.
If I spend 700.00 it BETTER BE RELIABLE--yes reliability is paramount.
I am not practiced at mechanics but have a strong aptitude.