Hello from Vermont

VTBikeman

Local time
12:06 AM
Greetings from the Green Mountain state of Vermont.

I run an audio company called Moscode (Moscode.com) and I'm a jazz bassist, but this summer I got hooked again on biking.

Last year at the Rocky Mtn Audio Fest in Denver, a local bassist that I had met the year before came by with his bike on which he had installed the Bionex electric motor and batteries. I rode it around the parking lot to get the feel of it and filed that experience away for the future. This summer I was looking into electric bike kits and almost pulled the trigger but the cost and weight of batteries had me thinking about alternatives.

When gas hit $4 I started by looking for a moped as a way keep my 97 20 mpg Nissan Quest parked. I saw a Batavus for $800 at the local cycle shop. I drove it but wasn't that impressed for $ 800. After scouring craigslist for more I came across Blue Collar Bikes selling the china made 2 cycle motor moped kit and having 2 bikes on hand I decided to give it a try for $200.

I put the 2 banger on my 27" wheels, 24" Panasonic touring bike which has proven itself to be really strong with a steel frame. I also had a hybrid bike but due to the stylized frame the motor would not fit on the bike.

I researched the VT DMV and found out it has to be registered, inspected and insured.

Now I had to add lights. I concocted a home brew of tail, brake, plate, & head lights and turn signals.

All this stuff took a lot longer than I thought it would. I was still looking into a commercial scooter or moped when for the same money I realized I could get full fledged motorcycle.

I decided to get a Suzuki GS450T, '81 and got into that. I took the MSF course last wknd and now I have the Motorcycle endorsement on my license.