Hi, I'm James, I've never built before

Jamesey

Local time
1:54 AM
I don't know too much about bike engines, but I've started reading up on this forum recently.

My ultimate dream is to put an engine on my recently bought Columbia Tandem bike.

Last edited:
Does the frame have room to fit one? Or will it need to have a friction drive on the back wheel?
c1b5210d935ebfff52f6d17e9d296ac9.jpg

I assume this is for two people riding. With the bigger bike and two people, you are going to really need to think about the engine cc if you don't want the motorized bike to be more of a peddle assist versus a full (~95%) engine propelled bike. I don't think a HuaSheng 49cc 4-stroke unless you have a high tooth rear sprocket will be able to propel 2 people on a tandem bike very fast.

I would imagine that it would mostly be me riding. It might seem like a hassle or waste to motorize a tandem if others aren't going to ride it most of the time, but I wanted the option at least to give my friends rides. I don't mind if it's not very fast with an extra person, I just want something to assist getting up hills and coasting across flat stretches. This is my first build, and it will probably be a small summer project, so don't wanna go too big with the engine. Besides, with the laws as they are, I don't really wanna think about motorcycle licensing or registration.

That said, I'm wondering how difficult it will be to mount a frame engine on a rear rack? I think it's possible, but I certainly don't know the easiest way

I do not recommend this for a first build and you will need to really plan it all out (sketches, almost everything designed) before ordering anything, but I think it is possible to rear mount the HuaSheng 49cc. I might make a rear mounted bike for my mother on a very small women's bike.