Hi... just bought first motorized bicycle.... and I broke it.. Huffy Cruiser

mwagner72

Local time
8:00 PM
Ok, so I'm new to motorized bicycles.... and yeah I should have done more research before buying the bike I got...

Brand New Bike... Brand new motor... Price was great.

But I don't think the builder new about the crappy bolts that came with the kits... only after a couple hours the front engine bolts sheared off....

I managed to get one out with a screw out kit.. but I trashed the second one... so that engine case is a paper wieght now... anyone know if I can get a replacement case anywhere?

No matter what I'm gonna buy another engine kit cuase I want to build one myself.

So I am gonna buy a new engine kit and would really like some opinions on the best kit to get for the cruiser.

I super appreciate any and all help...

Mark Wagner

Mesa, Arizona

Attachments

• 2010-04-17 15.55.41.jpg
    2010-04-17 15.55.41.jpg
    150.2 KB · Views: 1,401
  • 2010-04-17 15.55.22.jpg
    2010-04-17 15.55.22.jpg
    141.7 KB · Views: 552
Hi Mark. Welcome to Motoredbikes!
In case you didn't bugger up the broke off stud- pick up a set of left handed drills from Harbor freight and try to drill out the stud. I love left hand drills- they usually bite in and spin right out.

I Also needed to get one extracted. and since have gotten Grade A bolts to hold up to the vibrations. and I wraped some Ele. tape around the frame in the mount area to dedden the vibrations and doubled the lock washers and seems to be working. Sylacone works to fix a leak in a tank for 2 weeks so far.

yeah I messed up the bolt on one side

yeah I messed up the bolt on one side

so at least one mounting bolt in the front wont work

but here's what I did...

I took off the standard chain guard and dropped the whole engine down about an inch... and set the front engine case in the groove

it seems to be working

Attachments

• 2010-04-18 10.07.54.jpg
    2010-04-18 10.07.54.jpg
    102.6 KB · Views: 309