Deleted Member 4613

Is this a nutball idea or not. Use stronger springs on the
clutch so it catches at a higher rpm, and use a belt
drive to the back wheel to reduce the shock on the
clutch. The clutch would catch at a higher rpm,
resulting in more torque. Would love input on
this. Is this crazy or not? Anyone tried messing
with the springs?

Not nutball or crazy- but also not correct. If you use cause the clutch to engage at a higher rpm, it has no effect on the engines "torque". What will occur, is that the clutch will engage at a different point in the torque curve. Have a look at the graph- I think a typical clutch hooks up around 2500rpm, lets say you bump that to 3000rpm- you are actually at a point on the curve where the engine is producing less torque. What will be the result? I couldn't tell you, spin the tire? bog down? I suppose many factors come in to play. And regarding the belt, I have no experience there- I hope the belt is not so 'stretchy' that it makes a significant shock reduction.

Is this a nutball idea or not. Use stronger springs on the
clutch so it catches at a higher rpm, and use a belt
drive to the back wheel to reduce the shock on the
clutch. The clutch would catch at a higher rpm,
resulting in more torque. Would love input on
this. Is this crazy or not? Anyone tried messing
with the springs?
well, what engine are you talking about?
is it a small 49cc engine, or is it like a predator 212?

your best bet it increase torque is to gear it higher (ie go up teeth on the rear sprocket)

on the 49cc the clutch engagement is set pretty good on these engines, its not too high that it has to rev to the moon to engage, but its not so low that it stalls out. you could use heavier springs (beleve pocket bike springs might work on the inter-graded clutch ones) it wont increase torque but it will have more acceleration off the bat (more rpms makes it engage harder, so then there no mid power bog)