Huffy Cranbrook update!!!

Sgt. Howard

Local time
3:06 AM
I was introduced today to a Wall Mart 2009 Huffy Cranbrook- my bike alongside of it showed me what people are talking about- the 2009 has 16 gauge spokes. My 2010 has 12 gauge. The 2009 has a SINGLE lug holding the front fender to the forks while my 2010 has TWO lugs. The older bike showed some pretty shagnasty, snaggle-toothed welds where my newer machine showed smooth connections. Even the stupid sprocket chain looked flimsey on that thing!!! I was astounded! Had I studied this website prior to my purchase, I would not have bought the Huffy. I would have bought the Schwinn. I am thinking that the Chinese have recently hit a higher point of the learning curve in building these things and I just happened to catch it- as it was, I ALMOST bought the Schwinn but the visibly heavier spokes on the Huffy sold me.
I work in Surgery. I am a tech. I have seem motorcycle accidents enough to understand the dangers. I also need reliable transportation. I use this thing in fair weather to commute to work- have done so since September of 2010. The few breakdowns I have encountered have to do with loose bolts, flat tires and running out of gas. The cheap HT 49 cc motor lost it's magneto ground connection over the Winter- I soldered that together in a way to assure it's never a problem again. My 130+ lb boy jumped a curb on this thing without damage to anything... including himself. Those who have encountered one of the earlier Huffys are quite right in saying these things are a deathtrap if you motorize them- the newer ones are a different kettle of fish. Here are my reccomendations;
Use the HT 49cc engine- legal in more states, seems to have less issues than the 60cc
Use the Manic Mechanic 44 tooth sprocket and mount for Worksman, you cannot go wrong with it
Use a tailpipe clamp for the foreward engine mount in conjunction with the adaptor plate in the kit. Ream out the rear mount slightly to accommodate the seat tube