I seem to have excessive compression

jefuchs

Local time
1:05 AM
I have a brand new kit, and this is my first build. I haven't gotten the motor running yet.

I thought my poor leg strength was my problem, but now I'm certain it's not. I got everything assembled, and tried to start the motor by keeping the bike stationary, with the back tire elevated, and applying pressure to the pedals... kind of like kick starting a motorcycle.

The pressure I encountered was so high that it was like the brakes were on. I disengaged the clutch to be sure I didn't have something jammed, and things turned smoothly enough. With the clutch back in place -- it would barely budge.

No kidding, I could stand on the pedal and not turn the motor (granted, I'm a very small guy, but it shouldn't be this hard). I pushed so hard I bent my kick stand. I could get it to push through a little, but not with enough speed to start the motor, and it definitely would have brought the bike to a screeching halt if the bike were in motion.

So I removed the spark plug, and tried again. Things turned just fine, but I would have expected it to be a little easier with no plug. Still, it proved nothing was frozen. It's definitely compression.

Is this just a new-engine issue, or is something really really wrong?

I'm sending a copy of this post to the seller to see if they can resolve this.

Is this just a new-engine issue, or is something really really wrong?

I'm sending a copy of this post to the seller to see if they can resolve this.

first turn over is tough, find a big hill engage the clutch so the chain can spin and while going down the hill slowly engage the clutch. Pedal if necessary. It'll turn over.

I have the same problem I have to be going pretty fast to get it to start.I got it so bad the it keeps sheering the key ways on the little beval gear.I wonder if somebody knows what we can do?I also had a pull start on and there's no way that I can pull it hard enough.