I'm fairly new to this, and want to make the most out of my budget

CalculativeCadaver

Local time
10:51 AM
I've never really used a forum before, so I'm sorry if I'm going about this all wrong.

I was hoping that some of you nice people on here, could give me an idea of how to make the most out of a budget of 400 USD.

I'm starting completely from scratch, and don't even have a normal bicycle yet. What I need is an idea of what I could/should get, in order to give myself a bike that I can use as temporary transportation to and from work, until I can get enough cash saved up for a cheap car. (My last one broke down, and if I'm being honest, I'll be lucky to even get the 400 I need out of selling it)

Are you familiar with the mechanics of a bicycle? You can pick up a fairly economical bike on your local craigs, but most of the time they have to be gone through and tuned up before they're any good for a motor.

Are you familiar with the mechanics of a bicycle? You can pick up a fairly economical bike on your local craigs, but most of the time they have to be gone through and tuned up before they're any good for a motor.

What do you mean? At risk of asking a stupid question, how does one tune up a bicycle? And since this is going to be my main form of transportation, I intend on ordering a brand new one off the internet. Would even a brand new bike still need a tune up?

A new bike won't need a tune up unless you have to assemble it when it arrives. Tune ups on bikes can be as easy as adjusting the brakes to a rebuild of both axles. Most used bikes need the axles greased at the very minimum.

Help tip: don't get a bike with a coaster brake.

Depends on if you want a cruiser bike or a road bike. Looking for a good used bike for under $100 plus $150 for a motor kit saves a lot of that $400.

What you want is a bike with enough room inside the frame to make mounting a motor easier.

Here are 2 bikes I have built, and 1 that is my present project.