I'm fairly new to this, and want to make the most out of my budget

Your better off going to garage sales/flea markets for used bikes, as people usually want to get rid of them ASAP for pretty cheap. All the bikes I've used i bought for less than 20$ (most were free)

Really any bike is a good starting one, its the maintenance that's the most important part IMHO, as the main reason the cheaper kits get bad reviews is that people never tighten up loose nuts/bolts and then things vibrate more and break, rinse and repeat. Yes there cheap, but you can improve upon them for very little $ invested (quality bolts are like 15$ For everything)

Garage sales are great places for deals....if not in hurry.

People do want to get rid of cheap box store bikes.... cheap.

Good bikes.....$500+ , are a bit different. Much harder to find. May sell for substantial portion of new value, or get traded in at bike shops.

all you want to do is strap a motor on it and ride around a little bit that's one thing. If you want to use it for your actual transportation and actually pedal it too that's another.

Not a lot of even mid tier bikes from giant, specialized, trek, etc show up used. Used frames of good bikes can go for a couple of hundred dollars.

A friend of mine has bikes costing $5000-$9,000. I asked him one time( 25 yrs ago!) if he really needed a $5,000 mountain bike...... His answer was definitely. Anything less and he'd break it. He didn't start there, he worked his way up to it.

I saw a photo of a motorized bike for sale on Craigslist the other day.
It was a mountain bike a cheap box store $150 bike. ..... The forks were bent back under the bike towards the frame noticeably........ What could go wrong..... operating that and hitting a pothole at 40 mph......or having inadequate brakes and not being able to stop before running into something.......

Last edited:
I mean, it depends on where you look.
My diamondback was 20$ used. The gaint i got for 15.
Huffys were both free.