Is there a guide for building a mb?

jadi929

Local time
7:23 PM
Hey, a total noob here. I was thinking about using a motor off of a weed trimmer to motorize a bike. Is there a step by step guide to building your own? Also, for those who aren't buying a kit, is there a list of parts somewhere (for noobs like me) so it could give me an idea on how much its all gonna cost me because i don't really know much.

no guide but once you know what you want to do we'll help you out with any questions,
first decision once you have a motor is how you want to drive it, belt/chain or friction
for most bike tires you'll need a ratio of about 12-14 to 1, a lot of it you'll have to figure out as you go

really should fix the key with the 2 dots(forget the name) on my keyboard

if you dont have the mechanical experience to already know what you want in your head... i would save the headaches and buy a kit.

start with the bike... what kind of bike are you using???

I agree. Trying to get it all together and working from the ground up would be a PITA.
Also, a weed trimmer motor won't give you the performance that you're probably hoping for.
If you buy a kit, much of the work is already done plus there's a large range of accessories available such as expansion chambers, high-compression heads, shift kit, carbs etc.

There's no step-by-step guide here that I'm aware of, but there are some pretty useful 'stickies' at the top of most sections.

Last edited:
yea thats what I thought at first, that I should just get a happy times kit. The only reason i went with the trimmer was that I see many ppl on here say that the material is cheap and stuff.

But yea, ur right, will probly just get a kit

Bushwhack!