it refuses to start

murduk0420

Local time
6:22 AM
I checked the spark plug and found we have spark, dumped a little gas down the spark plug hole, tightened the idle screw and then loosened it 3 1/2 turns to get the idle right, checked the throttle assembly and works good and I even installed a pull start for it to make starting it easier and it won't even turn over. I tried it with the choke on (up) and with the choke off (down) all you hear is the cylinder going up and down Help please. :cry:

Doesn't really seem like pouring fuel into the cylinder is a good idea.. If it's not getting fuel, then you need to fix that..

The idle screw will only affect how it runs when er.. idling.

You will really need to be more descriptive if anyone more experienced here is even going to attempt to help you..

What kind of engine is it?

What kind of carb have you got?

er.. I can't think of any additional details, because i'm still a newbie myself. But anything you think of that could be useful.

ok, first off...if you say that it won't turn over, to most people that means that the engine is locked up. but you are saying that it spins over when you are trying to start it because you can hear the piston going up & down. (turning over) if it will not run, that would be described as it not wanting to fire.
pouring gas in the spark plug hole can cause 2 problems. 1. it will foul your plug and make it so it does not spark. 2. if you pour too much gas into the cylinder, with no spark you risk hydrolocking the engine, but it would take an aweful lot of gas for that to happen.
you have spark, but do you know if you have fuel flow into and out of the carb?
if your carb has a small white plastic "T" on it, in line with the fuel line...it's a second on/off valve for the gas. make sure that the "T" is in line with the fuel line and it will be open.
if you have spark, then your wiring should be ok.