Just a gray haired arthritic old man who would rather ride a bike than a motorcycle

deserttoadd

Local time
5:16 AM
Now that I have a new set of wheels under me I feel like I can start posting.

I live in the middle of nowhere so I guess that puts me in the middle of everywhere. lol I started riding my motorized bike to work about 5 years ago but was stopped because of a tumble at the post office when I went to stop, oil spots are not my friends, and by the time I was ready to go again the
General decided to make the requirements for motorized bikes the same as motorcycles so I was out of luck until higher headquarters decided that Motorized bikes only had to conform to state law and I had to wear a bike helmet. My first bike was stolen four days before I was going to get it ready for riding to work so my house insurance paid 100% to replace it with this one.
Bike: Schwinn Commuter Bike, changed to heavy duty wheels and sprockets and 26x2 airfree tires with an aggressive tread, not all of my roads are nicely paved. I work the graveyard shift and learned my lesson early and got tired of having to repair flats every day
Engine: Honda GX35 Four Cycle Engine w/ belt drive from GEBE
Tools: I carry a small container in my pack with various wrenches, screwdrivers,batteries, air pump for the horn, a few zip ties, two extra belts and lower gears for steep hills. Extra container of fuel in bottle holder. I also carry my registration, job ID, and CA. Veh. Code extracts covering motorized bikes for dim witted sheriff deputies and govt police both civ and GI.
Clothes: shorts, t-shirt, Bibbies when it start getting to the end of October, steel toed work shoes, gel bike gloves.
Safety equipment: Helmet w/ light on top, reflective vest (esp. at nite), mirror on the helmet, front and rear lights, air horn, reflective tape (black) all over the black frame and supports.