killswitch help

cdoddsie15

New Member
Local time
12:28 PM
Joined
May 25, 2008
Messages
14
i just took my bike out for a run and i went to cut it off and the killswitch doesnt work!! ahhhhh
i had to stall it to shut the engine off
i did like the instructions said yellow to the blue wires and black to ground
does anyone know why it didnt work?
 

cdoddsie15

New Member
Local time
12:28 PM
Joined
May 25, 2008
Messages
14
what would you suggest i do
buy a new one?
i thought and could it have somthing to do with the paint or is that not a factor?
 

JohnnyLoves

Member
Local time
12:28 PM
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
99
Location
Connecticut
make sure its properly grounded. I had the same problem. Tie the kill switch into the wires coming from the magneto to the CDI. black with black, blue to blue with yellow.
 
Local time
12:28 PM
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
685
Location
Treasure Coast, Florida
Possible, you need to scrape the paint of to get to bare metal. Alot of people dont use them, too many problems. I have mine hooked up but would only use it in a emergency, like if throttle stuck open. I just have my idle set so that it stalls to turn off, or you could choke it to kill engine. It is questionable as to whether these "fry" the magneto.
 

cdoddsie15

New Member
Local time
12:28 PM
Joined
May 25, 2008
Messages
14
thanks for the replies
misterigt, how do you set it so that when you let it idle it shuts off?
 

JohnnyLoves

Member
Local time
12:28 PM
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
99
Location
Connecticut
get your engine started, than turn the screw counterclockwise in quater turns until it stalls out. Simple enough.
 

cdoddsie15

New Member
Local time
12:28 PM
Joined
May 25, 2008
Messages
14
alright
i might try redoing the wires then do that
thanks for all the help guys
 

GasKicker

Member
Local time
12:28 PM
Joined
May 28, 2008
Messages
72
Location
DeLand, Fl
You said "yellow to blue and black to ground"? On my kits it has always been black to blue and yellow to ground. Check again.
 
Top