looking for an appraisal....

m3456y

Local time
10:07 AM
I'm trying to help an older guy here in Fort Myers determine a price for his Whizzer. He claims it is a 1958 original bike that has been recently restored. He says it starts (a little hard), but runs great. I've included a few iphone shots...paint looked good - just needed pinstripes.

Well I'm not a expert but it look like he's got one of a newer whizzer seats and cheng shin tires, possibly modern whizzer rims and exhaust. Those parts really hurt the value of a vintage bike. Also can't tell what engine it has. but looks vintage. Maybe $2000 to $3000 if he changes those items. Nice bike though!

Yes, you are correct on the tires and seat. He should also replace the pedals...but as it sits what's your best guess? I told him I thought $1,800-$2,2000... But there are many more knowledgable people on this forum than me!

I'd say your in the ballpark! If he was to put that bike on eBay I'd start it at $1500 or a little higher. Too high no one will bid on it. Put it on Craigslist for $3000 and see what happens. Or list it on eBay as Make Offer. You don't have to accept anything!

what's the engine number? It's next to the oil drain plug. A picture of the other side of the engine would help too.

The pipe is NE also as I would guess exhaust manifold, that is not helping his bike, with the 24" wheels, 26" fenders, Taiwan saddle, and an apparently non-orig color? Those wheels are not factory NE, BUT they are not orig style either. Book rack looks like some of the re-pops I sell, also.

It is a nice looking bike at first look, BUT will require many bucks in parts if someone wants it to be "right". I would just guess that the pedal crank, stem, and bars are modern also and NOT Wald.

It would be difficult to get good money from a collector, as it needs a lot to be a true restoration, IMHO.
Mike