Looking for riders and trails in Western Washington State

DanTheDIYGuy

Local time
9:56 PM
I'm new to this hobby, but I've got the bug and would love to meet some more experienced riders. I also am trying to find some good trails to ride either with a buddy, or alone. Not sure if trails for dirt bikes would be too difficult for the motorbike, and wondering if motorbikes are even allowed on mountain biking trails. Any replies would be appreciated!

I live in the Seattle-Tacoma area, and am willing to drive to meet up with any other riders.

Wow, that's cool: I am from Washington too (Buckley-Bonney Lake area). I do a little mountain biking aside from MBs and from what I have seen, we can't drive our motorized on hiking or biking trails. Here is a page from the Washington State Legislature's website addressing moped laws (MBs usually are legally classified as mopeds): http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.04.304. I also do a fair amount of wilderness exploring on forest service roads and camping sites and I have seen several signs referencing a specific state statue requiring all off road vehicles to be street legal and licensed must only be operated on established roads. Motorized bikers in our state are kind of in a "catch 22" situation. We need to get the bikes licensed and tagged in order to drive on public roads but we can't register them primarily because they are something we constructed them selves. Here is a thread about a guy from Bellevue who built a really professional looking bike that meet all the legal requirements, yet still couldn't get it registered because he built it himself: http://motoredbikes.com/threads/getting-rather-not-getting-a-license-in-wa.14561/#post-151230