motor size question

metalzombievi

Local time
2:11 AM
hello, im new to motorized bicycles and have been trying to do research before i buy/build one. my main question, that i cant seem to find an answer to is this,
what would be the best size motor for riding around a mountain community with very little flat ground?
any help or links would be welcome. i looked at a few pages of forum titles and couldnt find anything that fit.

Lots of variables. Power and gear range will be very important in your environment. Some type of shift kit will be needed. The motor will be based on how much speed do you think you'll need. Cost always plays a role as well.

I'd get in touch with KC on this website and see what he can do for you. He's done some impressive work.
Wayne

if your weight isn't to great, you might be OK with a 66cc 2-stroke - oversized rear sprockets are available if hills become a problem, but for a person at 150lb or so they do well with a standard 44T

thanks for the help. luckly im not too heavy, under 130. ill start looking at different sized sprockets and shift kits, if they arent too pricy i might get one. ill also try to find KC's websight and see how that goes. thanks.

at 130, you'll probably be happy with the standard sprocket that comes with the kit