Need some help mounting exhaust!

Status
Not open for further replies.

adboio

Local time
10:09 PM
[cross-posted from r/motorizedbicycles]

Hello! Recently bought an 80cc build on Craigslist to use for my commute to class every day. It needed a ton of work, and I'm almost done, except it's loud as s**t and I want it a bit quieter. The kid I bought it from did not have the stock exhaust anymore, so I ordered this exhaust from Amazon (will be here tomorrow): https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07MNK316W/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

However, I just went to check it out and it looks like one of the mounting holes by the exhaust has some sort of stud stuck in it, or a broken/absolutely-demolished-and-no-longer-resembles-a-bolt bolt with no head. I can't get it out for anything. It also looks like the hole this "stud" is in is smaller than the other one?

This is my first time ever working with a motorized bike, and was just curious if anyone had ideas on how to mount this thing. I was thinking about using the one hole I have to mount it, maybe finding some way to glue it on the other side, and then attaching it to the frame at another point. However, I have no clue what size that hole is and even less of a clue as to what kind of glue I'd use for something like this. Any suggestions are appreciated!

Also, any suggestions on things to watch out for with this being a used bike would be appreciated! Trying not to die on the way to class, that's my professors' jobs

Links to Amazon may include affiliate code. If you click on an Amazon link and make a purchase, this forum may earn a small commission.
Due to the temperatures and vibrations involved there are no epoxys that would hold. If you took it to any machine shop they could probably extract the broken stud for only a few dollars.