New member, cruising in Adelaide

sakeynes

Local time
1:55 AM
G'day, I'm from Adelaide, Australia.

Just assembled my 50cc Chinese motor (Z-box branded) to an old Diamond Back Topanga. The bike was bloody heavy at the beginning, but now its a monster!

Assembly issues so far - chain kept dropping between the sprocket and spokes; sheared one bolt on the engine head well before I hit 12 ft.lb; accidentally screwed the mixture screw (?) on side of engine and now have no idea what sort of mixture I am running; fuel tank leaks at the valve; cables all way to long; Topanga has very narrow handlebars and I'm running out of space to mount stuff!

Have fixed most of these issues and had about 15km of riding so far...

Also, just found out that a great friend of mine, who I graduated alongside in mechanical engineering 10 years ago, just finished his bike assembly one day before me. Neither of us had any idea. Amazing!

So, some basic Q's, if anyone wants to help:
1) How do I re-tune that screw on the side of the carb?
2) Anyone got a sturdier idler wheel solution?
3) Does changing the spark plus really make any difference?
5) Acetone in the fuel?

Thanks all,

Stu

G'Day, welcome to MBc,
I'll try to answer some questions,

So, some basic Q's, if anyone wants to help:
1) How do I re-tune that screw on the side of the carb?
2) Anyone got a sturdier idler wheel solution?
3) Does changing the spark plus really make any difference?
5) Acetone in the fuel?

1) I've had a few that messed up at the idler screw thread before fitting to engine, it happens from time to time. I'd chat to Warren and see if he may replace it or get another one. Unless you have a tap set, give it a try.

2) I've used a derailer gear on very first build and it's still going after over 18 months. There is a thread somewhere by Large Filipino, or later I'll post a pic. of mine, ( camera battery needs charging)