New Member.. looking for first bike

rimfirekyle

Local time
12:25 AM
Hello, my name is kyle sawyer, 22 y/o and i am new to motoredbikes ( love it so far ). I have spent some time in law enforcement and am now a service writer for the family business and have all sorts of spare time after work. i am finding myself quite bored. Any how, i have built many mini bikes and trikes and honda trails of all sorts but now i want to try my hand motorized bicycles.

i have a trek 820 road bike and 800 rigid mt. bike, but i do not wish to motorize either one of them. i would like to build a dedicated motorized bike. I just want a cheaper bike to start with like this

http://www.walmart.com/ip/26-Ocean-Pacific-Men-s-Beach-Cruiser/11089181

or this

http://www.walmart.com/ip/26-Men-s-NEXT-La-Jolla-Cruiser-Bike/4990073

I like the latter better and also think engine mounting will be more simple......

I am 230 pounds give or take and i think i will need a larger engine that the 50cc........

anyone see any flaws in my plan thus far....?

thanks in advance for all the help

I used a Schwinn Landmark for my first build. http://www.walmart.com/ip/26-Men-s-Schwinn-Landmark-Cruiser/13398156

It was a painless install and now has over 600 miles of trouble free riding. It's a steel frame which is a little more stout than the Point Beach.

You can see it here...http://www.motoredbikes.com/album.php?albumid=1092

Brian

I would get the motor first and then the bike so you can be sure the motor fits. I bought a new Schwinn for my first and the frame opening was too small--sold it to a neighbor and took the motor down to K-Mart and found a bike it would fit. (A Chinese single speed called oddly enough the "Upland Beach Cruiser"

Hi Kyle,

I tried to copy/ paste some info from someone "in the know", a seasoned bicycle pro (mechanic/retail)? (pics did not go through)

"C" - Thank you again for sharing your knowledge.

Sos not to upset anyone, pm me and ill get you the link.