new pusher pusher and hinge idea

jag217

Local time
10:21 PM
This is my first attempt at a motorized bike. Thought of doing a bike pusher because I can make it the way I want, not a kit. I've got most of the components: 6.5 hp HF engine. two 1 1/2 multihole square metal tubing for the trailer bed. Got a 10 inch wheel from harbor freight. Need to get: sprocket, centrifugal clutch, axle, axle stop collars, chain.

Found one of those sit up benches in the dumpster which has a curve in it so that will be the tongue. Went to a local welding shop and had them weld together two door hinges for the "U joint" at the seat post. Pictures attached.

Question: Given 6.5 hp 3/4" shaft engine. and ten inch wheel. which size sprocket, clutch, chain and pillow block is needed?

Attachments

• hitch1.jpg
    hitch1.jpg
    99.1 KB · Views: 1,412
  • trailer1.jpg
    trailer1.jpg
    105.9 KB · Views: 1,329
Very creative use of door hinges!! I like it!!!!! (Do you, or have you worked in a door factory? I did & have found some unusual uses for hinges.)

Just a thought... for safety...... where the metal is rolled, (for the hinge pin to slide in & out) the end of that roll is not connected back to the hinge. It might be a good idea to have that gap tack welded. You will be pushing a lot of torque with that 6.5 HF engine..... I'd hate to see the gap in the hinges spread open, at speed.

Ride safe & keep us posted on your progress.

again.... nice idea on your design!!

I just noticed your hinge pins are NRP. (non removable pins) If that metal roll is already connected... disregard my previous safety thoughts.

optimal sprocket sizes for 2.5 hp pusher

hey all

I'm starting the bicycle pusher trailer project. Have posted pics of the welded two door hinge hitch which i installed yesterday. Also have gym sit up bench curved and square tubing for the tongue. My question for anybody into engines is: