New Throttle Idea.

Matt Barrack

Member
Joined
May 30, 2017
Messages
99
My throttle sucks. I cant seem to get it right. Sometimes it's firm and sometimes it's not. Today my friend was taking it for a spin and it went limp and couldn't stop!

I'm wondering if this would work;
Instead of keeping the twist throttle, what if I put the throttle cable on a brake lever and used that? Would it work? It seems like it, since all it would do is pull the cable.

ALSO - I would keep the killswitch on, just no throttle handle.
 
Last edited:


Rusty_S85

Active Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2017
Messages
943
Hmmm I would investigate the grip cause it shouldn't change like that. Are you using a kit grip or did you buy the grip separate?

I'm not doing the kit route for mine as I bought a GT2A frame with a built in fuel tank so I don't need the extra junk that comes with the kit. But I found some nice grips from bike-berry I think that has chrome caps on the end of the grips. They look to be pretty good quality.
 

Matt Barrack

Member
Joined
May 30, 2017
Messages
99
kit grip and it keeps slipping and then i have to take it apart and fix it. And when it slips i cant stop the motor. I assume a lever would work because it's doing the same job as the twist grip.
 

Rusty_S85

Active Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2017
Messages
943
they have levers you can use like thumb levers. But I would be curious if one could repurpose the guts of a motorcycle grip to work instead they might be built better than these bicycle versions.
 

Frankenstein

In memory of Frankenstein 1991 - 2018
Joined
Jun 24, 2016
Messages
5,077
Get a nice billet aluminum one on eBay, it has a nice little bearing in it too it should work for you fine.

The plastic throttle thing never jived with me, I really do like that good one though it's a decent upgrade.
 

butre

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2013
Messages
2,502
plenty of people have done that, but most haven't needed to. if your cables are zip tied to the frame, make sure it's not so tight that it's pinching the cables.
 

Jwestie15

Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2017
Messages
55
That's how I set mine up after the stock setup broke on install because of cheapo chinesium plastic I have a twist throttle on the way from SBP I've heard they are much higher quailty
 

inspectorcritic

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2015
Messages
1,381
My throttle sucks. I cant seem to get it right. Sometimes it's firm and sometimes it's not. Today my friend was taking it for a spin and it went limp and couldn't stop!

I'm wondering if this would work;
Instead of keeping the twist throttle, what if I put the throttle cable on a brake lever and used that? Would it work? It seems like it, since all it would do is pull the cable.

ALSO - I would keep the killswitch on, just no throttle handle.
I think you need to open up your throttle take a look it may be bent not aline right I bought a new throttle it was slow responsive then jam at top of the hill full throttle 100,000 rpms nearly blew it had to open it up look at take a box cutter and shave the plastic so there was no drag on it plenty of clearence.
 
Thread Status: Hello , this thread is over 3 years old. You can still reply if relevant, but sometimes it's better to create a new thread to get more replies!
Top