Engine Trouble new two stroke problems help please!

willE

Local time
8:45 PM
Hello,
I am new to dealing with two stroke engines and can use some advice. I just installed a new two stroke 80/66 cc engine on my bicycle. After the initial roadblocks getting her going she was running pretty well. I had run maybe a half a tank or so when i gave it almost WOT (too early i think). After that it has been having problems idling, the sound of the engine and smoothness have gotten worse, and it is dying a lot. Now i will give you the details about my set up. I have always started it with the choke usually all the way down or almost all the way down. Even before i had any problems I had never been able to start it with the choke up and if i put the choke up it will kill the engine. I have checked the gas line and i know that the engine is getting fuel. The bike will run but it is difficult to start and keep running. It sounds like it is uneven (not making a consistent sound) like some of the strokes are more powerful than others. Sometimes it will not idle, other times it will idle and sound much better, but when i release the clutch and load is put on the engine the off balance sound and feeling comes back. I have tried adjusting the idle screw on the carb but it does not improve the problem really. The spark plug, when pulled from the cold engine is black and dry. I have also noticed the spark plug coming loose but problems persist even when it is thoroughly tightened. I am also not really sure how much torque these engines normally have but it will die trying to start from a stop if i am idling or going up a hill at a slow speed. The problems started after i gave it more throttle than normal for break in so I am wondering if i may have permanently damaged it :/, but I am hoping for the best. Any help with this will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks so much,
Will E

Wot